Miami Bands Christmas Concert Info

Dear Wardog Band Family,

Most of Miami High School’s Band students and parents, and the WRMS Band students are aware that I suffered a major injury to my right ankle prior to the beginning of school. Unfortunately, it has grown progressively worse throughout marching season and the fall semester. Due to the weakness in the ankle, I incurred a second injury at our final marching contest that finally forced me to seek treatment. The examination and MRI revealed a major tendon severed on the inside of my ankle, multiple micro-fractures, shredded ligaments and a fracture in the ankle joint which requires reconstructive surgery. As a result of my neglect to seek treatment, the large tendon has begun to atrophy (draw up into my leg) and the doctor doesn’t feel that we can delay surgery. As the atrophy progresses it can complicate the issue. Therefore, I am scheduled for surgery on Thursday, Dec. 8th. Due to the complexity of the procedure, I will not be released to return to school, until after Christmas break. Full recovery is estimated to take 8-12 weeks.

Upon receipt of this news, I felt it would be best to postpone the Christmas concert until the end of January or first of February. I requested permission and received support from both MHS and WRMS administration in making this decision. I have the utmost confidence in Ms. Downard and her abilities. However, due to the magnitude of the Christmas concert as a whole, I do not want to subject her to taking on this monumental task alone. I understand that the Christmas concert is a highly anticipated event each year and I sincerely apologize for having to postpone. The concert date is currently pending, but will be announced as soon as possible.

It has been very difficult for me to admit defeat…but more importantly, I must tend to my own well-being now so that I can continue to be the best I can be for the Miami Band program and the district for years to come.

Thank you for being understanding and I wish you all a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Sincerely,

Toye Harris, Director of Bands
Miami Public Schools

